The Australian Curriculum is designed to teach students what it takes to be confident and creative individuals, and become active and informed citizens. It sets the goal for what all students should learn as they progress through their school life - wherever they live in Australia and whatever school they attend.



From Prep to Year 10


ln the early years, priority is given to literacy and numeracy development as the foundations for further learning. As students make their way through the primary years, they focus more on the knowledge, understanding and skills of all eight learning areas.


ln secondary schooling, students are taught by specialist teachers. Towards Year 10, the curriculum is designed so students develop skills for civic, social and economic participation. Students also have opportunities to make choices about their learning and to specialise in areas of interest.


The curriculum assists students to consider pathways for study in senior secondary schooling from a range of academic and vocational options.


From the first year of schooling to Year 10, students develop knowledge and skills in eight learning areas:


  • English
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Health and Physical Education (HPE)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences (HaSS)
  • The Arts
  • Technologies
  • Languages



From Year 11 to 12


There are three dimensions in the Australian Curriculum:


  • learning areas
  • general capabilities
  • cross curriculum priorities

Learning Areas


The Australian Curriculum is organised into learning areas and subjects. Some learning areas bring a number of subjects together: Humanities and Social Science includes History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, and Economics and Business. The Arts include Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts. Technologies include Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies. There is also a choice of Languages.


Learning areas contain content descriptions that detail knowledge, understanding and skills to be taught each year or across a band of years. These content descriptions are accompanied by achievement standards that describe what students will know and will be able to do as a result of teaching and learning in the classroom.



General Capabilities

General capabilities are included in the content of the learning areas. These are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21st century. The Australian

Curriculum has seven general capabilities:


  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • lnformation and Communication, Technology (lCT) Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • lntercultural Understanding

Cross Curriculum Priorities - preparing students for 21st century living.


ln a similar way, there are three priorities essential to Australia's future:


  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait lslanders Histories and Culture
  • Asia and Australia's Engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability

They build across the curriculum and allow students to connect the content of learning areas.