From Year 11 to 12


There are three dimensions in the Australian Curriculum:


  • learning areas
  • general capabilities
  • cross curriculum priorities

Learning Areas


The Australian Curriculum is organised into learning areas and subjects. Some learning areas bring a number of subjects together: Humanities and Social Science includes History, Geography, Civics and Citizenship, and Economics and Business. The Arts include Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts. Technologies include Design and Technologies and Digital Technologies. There is also a choice of Languages.


Learning areas contain content descriptions that detail knowledge, understanding and skills to be taught each year or across a band of years. These content descriptions are accompanied by achievement standards that describe what students will know and will be able to do as a result of teaching and learning in the classroom.



General Capabilities

General capabilities are included in the content of the learning areas. These are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21st century. The Australian

Curriculum has seven general capabilities:


  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • lnformation and Communication, Technology (lCT) Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • lntercultural Understanding

Cross Curriculum Priorities - preparing students for 21st century living.


ln a similar way, there are three priorities essential to Australia's future:


  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait lslanders Histories and Culture
  • Asia and Australia's Engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability

They build across the curriculum and allow students to connect the content of learning areas.