There are three dimensions in the Australian Curriculum:


  • Learning areas
  • General capabilities
  • Cross curriculum priorities 
Learning Areas


The Australian Curriculum is organised into learning areas and subjects. Some learning areas being a number of subjects together: Humanities and Social Science includes History, Georgraphy, Civics and Citizenship, and Ecomomics and Bussiness. The Arts includes Dance, Drama, Media Arts, Music and Visual Arts. Technologies include Design and Technology and Digital Technology. There is also a choice of languages.


Learning areas contain content descriptions that detail knowledge, understanding and skills to be taught each year or across a band of years. These content descriptions are accompanied by achievement standards that describe what students will know and will be able to do as a result of teaching and learning in the classroom.


General Capabilities


General capabilities are included in the content of the learning areas. These are the skills and abilities intended to help prepare young Australians to learn, live and work in the 21 century. The Australian Curriculum has seven general capabilities:


  • Literacy
  • Numeracy
  • Information and Communication, Technology (ICT) Capability
  • Critical and Creative Thinking
  • Personal and Social Capability
  • Ethical Understanding
  • Intercultural Understanding
Cross Curriculum Priorities – Preparing Students for 21st Century Living


In a similar way, there are three priorities essential to Australia’s future:


  • Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders Histories and Culture
  • Asia and Australia’s Engagement with Asia
  • Sustainability

They build across the curriculum and allow students to connect the content of learning areas.